Interception

Galerie Division

19 mai - 4 juillet, 2015

Montréal, QC

http://www.galeriedivision.com/montreal/exhibition/michel-de-broin-interception

 

Pour sa deuxième exposition individuelle à la Galerie Division, Michel de Broin tourne son attention vers les lois et les stratégies qui gouvernent le jeu. Interception, le titre de l’exposition, implique de prendre par surprise, de renverser le cours d’une action. Les paradoxes architecturaux sur lesquels reposent les œuvres relèvent d’une logique du hasard et de l’interruption, déstabilisant les oppositions haut/bas, intérieur/extérieur, et individuel/collectif pour faire place à un terrain de jeu ouvert.

Artefact (2015) est une photographie à grande échelle d’un papier peint, longtemps dissimulé derrière des couches de peinture et excavée. La fresque représente une scène de footballeurs aléatoirement dispersés sur le terrain. Dans cette chorégraphie de mouvements tactiques, les joueurs sont pris dans des trajectoires dont on ignore le but. Les motifs répétitifs contrastent avec le singulier changement de couleur et de texture que le temps a imprimé sur les joueurs. Au centre de ce rêve d’enfance enfoui émerge la structure brisée du mur, ouvrant une faille dans le terrain.

Jeux de Tables (2014) est composé de 24 tables ordinaires reconfigurées dans une structure défensive à plans multiples. L’appellation Jeu de tables est un terme générique pour les jeux de société qui se jouent sur une table. Le titre de l’œuvre donne une nouvelle matérialité au concept en jouant littéralement avec les tables elles-mêmes. Avec leurs pattes pointées vers l’extérieur, les tables ainsi renversées sont transformées en boucliers d’une structure aux allures de forteresse. Dressée contre les assauts, la pièce contredit sa propre raison d’être en déployant l’équilibre précaire d’un château de cartes. Les pièces entrelacées de ce casse-tête sont mutuellement interdépendantes, révélant chacune leur endos recouvert des traces de leur utilisation à travers le temps.

Dans Drunkated Bunkyball (2015) de Broin retrouve une forme familière, celle de l’icosaèdre tronqué de Bunckminster Fuller. Inspiré de l’architecture utopique, l’œuvre est faite de bâtonnets à cocktail moulés et repeints – des objets de collection, produits en masse, utilisés comme moyen publicitaire et distribués à l’échelle mondiale dans les casinos et les bars. La formation géodésique des bâtonnets à cocktail tend vers la stabilité, dans un jeu d’équilibre entre forces de traction et de compression animant la surface.

Interception

Division Gallery

May 19 - July 4, 2015

Montreal, QC

http://www.galeriedivision.com/montreal/exhibition/michel-de-broin-interception

In Michel de Broin’s second solo exhibition at Division Gallery, the artist turns his attention to the governing laws and strategies at play in games. Interception, the exhibition’s title, implies being caught by surprise and reversing a course of action. Interruption and chance set the rules for disorderly architectural paradoxes, where the binaries of top/bottom, inside/outside, and individual/collective are collapsed in an open field of play.

Artefact (2015), a large-scale photograph of excavated wallpaper previously concealed behind layers of paint, is a scene of football players randomly dispersed on a field. In this choreography of tactical moves, the players are caught in a trajectory within which the goal of the game is ignored. The repeating patterns contrast with the overall alteration of colour and texture that time has imprinted on the players. In the midst of this buried childhood dream emerges a broken structure in the wall, simultaneously opening up a hole in the players’ field.

Also on display is Jeux de Tables (2014), composed of 24 ordinary tables reconfigured into a multilayered defensive structure. The title of the piece offers a play on words, with Jeux de Tables materializing the French term for board games (games of tables). With legs pointed out, the upturned tables are transformed into the armored components of a fortress-like structure. A shield against assault, the piece contradicts its own purpose by deploying the precarious equilibrium of a house of cards. The interlocking pieces of this disassembled puzzle are mutually self-sustaining, revealing their backsides covered in traces of their use through time.

In Drunkated Bunkyball (2015) de Broin returns to a familiar form, that of Bunckminster Fuller’s truncated icosahedron. Inspired by Utopian architecture, the piece is made of cast and re-painted swizzle sticks-mass-produced, collectible objects used as advertising mediums and globally distributed in casinos and bars. The geodesic formation of the swizzle sticks aims for stability, balancing tensile and compressive forces within its surface.

 

FreeBall [2015]
Colour photograph mounted on aluminum
24 x 16 inches

Artefact [2015]
Colour photograph mounted on aluminum
60 x 92 inches

Drunkated Buckyball [2015]
Bronze, enamel
32 inches in diameter

Based on a modular geodesic construction principle, Drunkated Buckyball brings together the optimistic, pleasant, and promising worlds of utopian architecture and entertainment. More than a hundred swizzle sticks are reproduced in bronze and joined together in an accidental configuration. The swizzle sticks intersect to form interlocking triangular components, building blocks that recall the utopian architecture of Buckminster Fuller. The swizzle sticks are joined to create a truncated icosahedron, a geometric form also associated with that of a soccer ball.